Unshakable – The Solid Rock

A good friend took me with her to a Bible study that started today. The focus will be the Book of Ezekiel. This has been long in coming. As many times as I have read the Book of Revelation, I’ve not yet read Ezekiel. And God told me it is time to put that oversight behind me.

But Ezekiel is not the focus of this entry. Unshakable faith is. Notice I didn’t say “religion.”

Religion is about Laws. In the Old Testament, Laws governed the land.

The New Testament changed all that…Jesus…Changed ALL of it. Jesus is about a personal relationship. That’s it. Nothing more or less. This always seems to be such a stumbling block for people. I don’t get it!

I could cite a lot of reasons to be angry with God.                                                                       I’ve told him how angry I am with him over the years. He Knows.                                            In fact, he prepared me for writing this in the last few minutes by giving me a reminder of what his grief CAN feel like. And then he “nudged” me hard enough to sit down and WRITE.

Feeling God’s grief is not fun. I’ve felt it before. But it is something I have asked to experience. “How is that, you say?”

Over the years, I’ve learned that as part of my prayer life I want to ask God to:

Open my eyes to see

Break my heart, for what breaks his

help me to act, speak and be the hands and feet of Jesus.

— And God will answer those requests. Only, I probably won’t know he’s answered or that he’s used me for those purposes. Occasionally I know, because I “sense” it. But not always.

If you are un-churched                                                                                                                       Not the “churchy” type                                                                                                                      have MAYBe gone to church on holidays            OR have felt betrayed by the church       here are the basics to know:

There is something called The Holy Trinity (the three in ONE)

God- The Father

Jesus- (God) the Son

Spirit – (God) The Holy Ghost (yeah, the term holy ghost can “throw” people, just “go with it” ok?)

God created Jesus. After Jesus death and following his ascension, God SeNT the holy spirit to be on earth at Pentecost.

The Holy Spirit is powerful. PowerFully aWesome. Amazing and Supernatural. Do NOT take The Spirit for granted. He is GOOD. You want him on YOUR side!

Getting back on track…there are many situations in my life that I could feel deep anger over. I know you probably feel the same.

How wrong-ED we have been by people we trusted. BUT, what point IS there in harboring that anger? You know what anger leads to?

Think about it: resentment, bitterness, revenge.

Do those attributes sound positive? Do they sound encouraging? No, they are damaging, destructive and lead to heartache. These attributes are the mark of the enemy. Yep. The enemy has a mission to “steal, kill & destroy”(John 10:10)

While I have NO intention to give the enemy any “additional” wiggle room in my life the reality is while I live and breathe on this earth, I will experience trouble.

As Jesus said:“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”(John 16:33)

Question: How do I overcome the world AND how do I find myself UN-shakable – STANDing on the solid rock of Jesus?

Answer: I quit leaning on myself. I quit looking to THiS world for answers. I quit trying to CONTROL and ASK him (Jesus) to lead.

Those are freakish thoughts aren’t they? They sound like they go against the grain of what society says we “ought” to do – to “strive” for. And those qualities are EX-act-LY what Jesus wanted us to understand.

28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. (Matthew 11:28-29)

‘my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:30

Ever tried standing on a big rock or boulder? You might be able to walk on it, dance on it, jump up and down. It wouldn’t move. It doesn’t. It’s UN-s-h-a-k-e-ABLE.

Jesus IS That Solid Rock. If you try and trust HIM enough to believe in his promises – You are going places! He does not disappoint and will NOT let you down.

He died on the Cross, but then God resurrected Him! How cool is THAT? If God gave his son, sacrificed him and then resurrected HIM to prove He COULD it’s only up to us to believe in the promise – HiS promise for everlasting life. All is takes is to have faith (even faith the size of a mustard seed – Matthew 17:20) in Jesus and accept his gift of grace.

Will you reach out to accept it? His grace card is free…and its benefits eternal.

Prayer:

Jesus, I need you. Help me find you. Show me who you are. Help me to find Your Solid Rock of mercy. Help me to be UN-shakable in a world that is ever-changing. Help me to feel your Love. Fill me to over-flowing and let me know you are with me. I want you in my life…starting now. Amen

I hope you experience God’s profound peace. There really is nothing like it. Thanks for stopping by and listening.

Blessings,

Kenzel

Leave a Reply

