My True Valentine: A letter from John

I’ve been contemplating for more than a week about writing a Valentine’s post.

I thought about hosting a book give-away, but that would be hard since I’m as yet unpublished.

I contemplated a lot of options.

I contemplated because I was procrastinating. I was procrastinating because (unfortunately) Valentine’s is not one of my favorite “holidays”.

Yes, A lot of things about me are typically female.

I like flowers.

I like candy (ok, maybe I don’t need to eat it).

I’m not opposed to enjoying a nice glass of red (though I don’t drink much anymore).

I am procrastinating because of my frustration with the commercialization of Valentine’s Day; and our “American Affair.”

I don’t watch much TV anymore and I’m glad, because the onslaught of Valentine’s advertising turns my gut. I’m wouldn’t be opposed to jewelry, diamonds and gems…but every time I read 1 Peter 3:3 and balance that against the thought of so many that have to choose between putting food on the table and staying warm…well, you get my drift.

Yes, I think heavy; that’s how God made me. One of my former supervisors (my junior year in college) told me point blank that I was the most analytical person she’d ever met. I heard that with mixed reactions but have since convinced myself that being SO ANALYTICAL is a good thing.

The “Commercialization” of Valentines (or any other holiday) takes the meaning away from the intent. On Valentines, what are our eyes besieged with? Red and pink hearts, romance and love, flowers and on and on. I am not here to rain on anyone’s parade only to shed light on why getting caught up in this culturally driven machine of “more, more, more” and “spend, spend, spend” – “want, want want” WILL never satisfy or satiate us. We were not designed this way, even if the world we live in – is.

Here is my analysis of why:

We are people. People are created beings with immense potential to love.
The love we have can’t be taken from us

but the love we share with others offers exponential growth potential

I’ve been spending a fair amount of time with God in His Word. Curiously enough, I’m drawn to it. While I know many people shy away or fear opening those rice paper thin pages; each time I do God’s direction comes through loud and clear in some way, shape or form.

Ten years ago, if I tried to open the bible it literally read “like Greek” to me. Nothing made sense. That was frustrating.

Then 7 years ago; when I believed I was dying. It all changed. I will write about it…but that will be a day long project. On that day, that night…God got a hold of my heart and help me understand what Love is.

Love is about surrender. (Job 11:13-15)

Love is about sacrifice (Romans 12)

Love conquers All – want to know how I know? (1 Peter 4:8)

Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.

The message of Valentines day has much less to do with what you give or receive TODAY and much more to do with a promise made long before you and I ever arrived on the earth. The essence of Valentines Day is a spiritual one.  It’s one that leaves me content and feeling peace.

(Romans 5:8) But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Yes, I am banking my Valentines Day happiness on a verse from scripture. Why wouldn’t I?

I don’t know anyone who would lay down their life for me…(and God was aware of this problem as well)

Someone who LOVED me even with all my flaws JUST because. To save me from myself.

Someone who KNeW if they didn’t sacrifice, then I didn’t have a chance

In fact, the meaning of true love is perfectly shown through Christ’s remarkable gift of mercy.

Jesus Loved YOU, He Love ME so much….

that He was willing to put his life on the line

and die to prove it:

JOHN: 3:16

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

The more I consider this post and this date on the calendar the more I realize that giving and sharing God’s Love, HIS Love, the love of Christ is what we were commanded to do EVERYday .

We all have a purpose.

We were born and created to be something…our presence HERE is no accident

Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails. (Proverbs 19:21)

It’s easy to look at Valentines Day as a material – event..but it is so much more fulfilling to live loving each other like Christ did:

Love the sinner, not the sin….every day.

So, when I speak of my letter from John as my ONE true Valentine I am referring to John 3:16 and rest assured: God knows that you’re worth it!

-Kenzel

5 thoughts on “My True Valentine: A letter from John

    • Your compliment made my heart sing. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it! The candy and flowers comment…you know as writer’s and Christians, we often see the world thru a very different lens. Our Biblical world view takes us on a different path. Flowers and candy was a reminder to myself – that I should still enjoy Valentine’s Day even if it is from a different perspective.

      Like

      • Oh, wow, that sounded very cool! Nice word usage! *high fives*
        No, but, seriously, you’re right. It’s hard lots of the time, looking at everything differently than the rest of the world. Even at my church and private Christian school, I still have to deal with cussing and really ungodly behavior. It’s sort-of depressing; but it’s also a huge reminder of a) how nobody, not even Christians are perfect and b) that it’s my job to be a light in this dark world.

        Yeah, I got my mom and brother candy for Valentines, and all my friends (since I’m homeschooled and they go to some sort of school) are talking about their boyfriends or how many Valentines they got…Yeah!

        Anyway, sorry, to ramble! Thanks for commenting back! Most people won’t. Thanks for the great post, too!

        Like

Leave a Reply

