Starting somewhere: the writer in me

 

 

 

Hi There!

 

I’ve been absent from here for a while. But for good reason. I have been dabbling in writing fiction, something I believe I was always destined to do.

 

I feel like writing was programmed into my DNA. I’ve had a million ideas cross my path for stories or features. And the blog ideas are never far away. But life moves really fast and we can’t always get out thoughts on paper as fast as we’d like.

Writing isn’t for the faint of heart. If you’re writing for God, He takes you where He wants to. Where He feels you need to grow. How you need to learn. And I’m learning I need to pay closer attention.

I think the same thing is true of musicians, songbirds, poets, artists. We let God use us to create beauty. To create something. Those somethings may not always be “pretty” but our creations are always worthy in God’s eye.

Often enough the lessons are downright hard. Some of the lessons are best keep in the dark, or that’s what we’re “conditioned” to think.

I’ve learned something about writing this week. I’ve learned what I need to get on the journey and stay on it. It’s having the ability to shut out the world and go to a place you’ve never been. It’s being willing to allow God inside and let him do his “thing.” It’s about creating a solitary place, free of distraction.

Like most dreams, I’ve been waiting for my writer’s life to transpire on its own. Now, I’ve tired of waiting for something to happen since “the novel inside me” is yet to be written. If I really am to write this “story”.. then I’m the only one who can accomplish what God intended for me to do all along. And procrastinating isn’t going to get it done.

So, I’m taking it slow. I am taking time to recognize how my brain works – how I thing.

Trying to tackle one HUGE book all at once is M-A-D. But this blog has made me realize I work in “fits & spurts.”

If get a feeling for a scene, I better get writing. Even if it means doing so at 2am (ugh)  So, I’m taking baby-steps and writing my novella(s), (or novel) or short stories one tiny step at a time.

The way I figure it I have nothing to lose. Well, I do. If God’s purpose if for me to “get ‘er done” and I ignore that calling I’ve defeated my purpose for being here. And I want to hear him say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

I am afraid. After all, there’s two things that can happen. I could fail by not trying – by not lifting a finger. OR I could succeed and start working hard, NOW.

A decision will be made either way; whether I act consciously or not. I guess it’s time to “put the pedal to the metal” – it’s time to start: Time to START SOMEWHERE

 

I don’t know where I’ll end up. But I know that I will be different once I get there.  After-all – God didn’t put me here to remain static and unchanged.

Father, Thank you for your abundant patience. Thank you for sharing your wisdom and for your constant encouragement. Thank you for believing in me…even when I’m not sure I believe in myself.

You are the light that shines my path. Please help me to keep the FIRE alive and strong, so I can keep shining your light unto the world. Help me navigate the waters ahead, and hold me close. Amen.

-Kenzel

2 thoughts on “Starting somewhere: the writer in me

Leave a Reply

