Buried Sins – A New Life

 The Baptism of Jesus

13 Then Jesus went from Galilee to the Jordan River to be baptized by John. 14 But John tried to talk him out of it. “I am the one who needs to be baptized by you,” he said, “so why are you coming to me?”

15 But Jesus said, “It should be done, for we must carry out all that God requires.[a] So John agreed to baptize him.

16 After his baptism, as Jesus came up out of the water, the heavens were opened[b] and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and settling on him. 17 And a voice from heaven said, “This is my dearly loved Son, who brings me great joy.”

 (emphasis mine)

Matthew 3:13-17

 

A Relocation: Physical & Spiritual

The nudges began in 2007-08. Right before we left the West Coast.

The move itself seemed “gi-normous.” Everyone said I was crazy to do it. But it was the first time I knew God was directing me, and given that I’d made a covenant with him the year prior I knew my “part” of the deal was not to question but to step out in faith.

I needed to do something I didn’t fully understand. I finally left the West Coast and ventured East-ward.

But the relocation was only a part of the nudge. There was another, softer whisper occurring, that I had a hard time taking seriously.

It was the same nudge. Over. And again.

Looking back I wonder: How is it I am so deaf? Or is it stubborn?

 

“But, Lord, I was baptized as a baby.

And I just surrendered myself to you,

do you really want me to get Baptized, again?”

This time around, He wouldn’t answer. Not a whisper, no words (at least not audible)

But The nudges wouldn’t stop.

I wondered what to do?

I thought about signing up for Baptism earlier this year, and then let it slide. I figured all was well. It didn’t really matter….it seemed silly.

Except the nudges wouldn’t go away.

He Speaks

I kept reading my bible. And I started to see it. Between that and other miscellaneous confirmations along the way I began to discern His message:

It wasn’t the order that I’d done things that mattered to God, it was that I’d done them or not done them.

I’d accepted Christ years ago, I’d fully surrendered – I’d repented. BUT I nearly missed one KEY element.

Choosing #Baptism. Choosing to publicly become baptized as an adult.

How old was Jesus when He was baptized? He wasn’t a baby. He was 33.

My parents baptized me as an infant. I was raised Lutheran, so I understand the principle of infant baptism.

But God wanted more…He wanted me to walk out the Physical manifestation of my re-birth. Because (I learned) I wouldn’t fully understand the magnitude of that decision and demonstration right away. Not for a few weeks.

He was unfolding His plans and I was to stand by and watch the “domino effect” of my baby steps growing in faith.

He wanted me to follow in Jesus’ steps.

He wanted me to declare my faith.

To show I’d chosen by my FREE WILL.

to do what He asks in scripture.

 

I signed up for Baptism Bash on short notice. Over the last few years I’d try to calculate a plan. Was there a “right” place, the “right” church, the “right” time? I was looking for ALL the “rights” but I kept getting it all WRONG!

It all happened in the span of a week and it turned into one BIG blur.

I’d forgotten that Jesus just “showed” up. John was at the River and it was time. What was holding ME back?

DIS-belief

ENOUGH of THAT!

I signed up. I was the only one in my family that participated. I didn’t let that bother me.

God and the Holy Spirit were calling on me to do it. As odd as it seemed to do so, I obliged. I did not know it at the time but this was an act of obedience on my part.

Here I am at Baptism Bash:

 

10541372_10152552638616832_5716886566645128930_o

In the pool: taking my Next Step

 

10548106_10152552638621832_686360283706884902_o

Burying my Sins, in the watery grave

 

10549924_10152552638696832_645507758526781902_o

Cleansed, Renewed, Restored.

 

Thank you, God! My Savior Jesus and Holy Spirit!

It took me nearly 7 years, but I finally got ALL the HINTS and I’m grateful…

 

 

Lord,

I had no idea of the plans you keep stored away. You do know me better than I know myself. I dodged and ran from you calling me to adult baptism. Forgive my resistance. Every little thing that seems silly or insignificant really does have a purpose.

Help me to not resist. (Mark 9:24)

Help my Spirit to be Willing. (Psalm 51:12)

Help me to better understand and hear your voice. (Hosea 14:9)

Life only makes sense with YOU in it and guiding me. I’m Blessed by you and because of you. Thank you. Amen.

I pray that each of you reading this hears and heeds God’s call for Baptism.

It really is a BIG deal…

Blessings,

-Kenzel

3 thoughts on “Buried Sins – A New Life

  1. Hi Kenzel, I really enjoyed this post today & hearing about your obedience. What a wonderful experience for you! I was privileged to be able to re-confirm my infant baptism when we visited the Holy Land just 2 years ago. Plunging under the waters of the River Jordan was truly memorable! I know that God will bless you for your obedience to those nudges!

    Like

    • Glenys,

      How wonderful that must have been! I thought about that when I decided to sign up. What it would be like to be baptized there as well..that must have been incredible.

      Thank you for the encouragement and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

