The Identical: Movie Review and DVD Give-AWAY (Give-Away ended)

 unnamed

Happy New Year!

I was recently given the chance to watch the movie called: “The Identical.”

Today I am posting my review. I will also be offering YOU a chance to win a DVD copy for yourself!

Here is the official movie summary:

The Identical, starring Ray Liotta, Ashley Judd, Seth Green, and Blake Rayne is a redemptive movie about a young man, the son of a preacher, who rejects his father’s desire for him to join the ministry and instead embarks on a career as a rock singer. As he struggles to pursue his dream and rise to stardom, he finds love, pain, success, failure and ultimately uncovers a hidden family secret that reveals who he really us. The Identical is a captivating story about a family restored and a life discovered that lifts your soul and warms your heart.

The DVD that we’d like to send you contains over 85 minutes of bonus content including “Making The Identical,” Behind the Scenes, and Deleted Scenes!

Now, time for my review:

I like a wide range of movies. From drama to suspense, romance to comedy, action and family. I also love movies where characters face big challenges. It’s a bonus if those characters find redemption before the “curtain closes.”

What I liked about “The Identical:”

First, I appreciated that the opening scenes reflected the time period of the drama: the opening scenes (which take place in the 1930’s) are in black and white.

It only took a couple of minutes for the story to introduce the first conflict: Parents struggling to provide for their children.

To have to make the decision these families did, would not be easy.

I liked the music. I am so glad that not only did the characters find redemption but that God can take our frailties, uncertainties, barriers and broken hearts and turn those ashes into beauty.

There isn’t much I didn’t like about this. Although I really didn’t know what to expect when I hit “play” I started it with no expectations. I was both entertained and surprised by the time it was over.

There were only a couple of things I didn’t like.

I had hoped Ryan would figure out the mysteries and twists of his life. That he would have discovered truths much sooner. We as the viewer knew what they were, in terms of suspense – I was anxious to see how it would “play out.” And from this reviewer’s perspective, the ending wasn’t predictable.

The only other thing that “bugged” me was Ryan’s hair style. I liked his character’s presentation all through the beginning. I found the curly (or permed) hair styling really distracting from his character performance. It didn’t minimize it, but it didn’t help. The look just didn’t fit the character’s persona, at least for me.

Overall, the film is a good family drama. It is much lighter than some family films I’ve seen (thinking Steel Magnolia’s). I loved that it made me laugh, made me cry. It reminded me that the road may not be perfect, it’s probably going to be bumpy. But our Faith will be refined and He will have given us the desires of our heart.

That’s what The Identical does. It gives us a chance to dream, reflect, appreciate the choices we’ve made, what we’ve learned and press on down the road we are traveling.

Whatever He’s planned for us – is to ultimately discover our true calling, purpose and plan.

Here’s a snippet of the movie trailer

Please enter the DVD Giveaway by leaving a comment on this blog post.

Giveaway ended on: 1/22/15

Thank you, Good Luck and Be Blessed!

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.  Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it ag>ain. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.

21 thoughts on “The Identical: Movie Review and DVD Give-AWAY (Give-Away ended)

    • KC, I was pleasantly surprised by it. It is a good movie for the family to watch – it takes you through a gamut of emotions and has emotionally heart wrenching moments. There are scenes that take you to places and situations you hope you never have to go. That being said, I consider this a “clean” movie and good for ages 12+. Hope that helps?

      Like

    • Amy, I hadn’t heard of it either. But I feel blessed to have reviewed it and blogged. I have seen “Grace Unplugged” and loved it, as well. Different story line but great message – both are entertaining, reflective and inspiring. Characteristics that hard hard to find in most movies today. Thank you for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

