Writing for the Right Reasons

When was the last time you looked yourself square in the mirror and thought about the truth?

What if the truth is a double edge sword?

What if the truth would set you Free, but Fear holds you back?

It’s very easy in this fast paced, high technology world for the majority to lean towards finding the easiest path…whether or not it’s the right direction. With plentiful access to

Fast cars

Fast computers

Fast Food at the same place you find

Faster internet connections

Fast, Fast, Fast: the only words that seem to count anymore

Fast, Faster and Fastest…doesn’t always get the job done, thoroughly or the right way. Does anyone reading this recall the childhood tale “The Tortoise and the Hare?” But I digress….

A Conference & A Critique

A few years back when I was still participating in a local writers group, I decided to sign up to participate in a regional writer’s conference. I figured it would be good practice before going to a National Conference.

Part of our registration included having a sample of our work critiqued by a published author.

I spent weeks working on a manuscript I’d started. Weeks was all I had left. I think I might still have it buried under a pile of papers but I almost hope I never set eyes on it again.

When I sat down that day to receive my critique, it was nearly one of the worst days of my life. The first words out of my reviewers mouth were: “I don’t know where to start.” The second set were “I hated it. The character, the personalities, all of it.”

Though I hadn’t “tuned out” to their review after those two sentences, I believe I’d entered a state of shock. My head spun, I felt dizzy. I had no appetite even as I sat down to lunch after.

I remember mentioning to my fellow writer friends that my writing career was already over, and I hadn’t even made it to the starting gate yet. I remember all 3 (or 4) of the ladies begging me not to give up. Not to give in. That I could make it past this set back. And one bad review does not a writer make.

It’s been at least 3, but maybe 4 years since that happened. But what I’m realizing is that while I had attempted to write romance and adventure…I was barking up the wrong tree.

I’ve heard many times I should write Dystopian or Post Apocalyptic or some kind of fiction that deals with chaos. The reading public is gobbling that up right now.

Set-Apart

What I’ve ignored up to now are my own strengths. Thinking that I should write what will sell. Thinking I should write what people want to read. Problem is, if God made each of us unique and I try to mold my abilities around someone else’s success or around “what’s hot”– what does that say about me? What does that say about my unique, God given gifts. Worse, with all the life experiences He has provided – if I don’t write about those, who benefits?

We are surrounded by darkness. But God put his people here to help keep his light shining.

I was first introduced to “darkness” when I was about 6 years old, though I didn’t realize it at the time. The first time I vividly remember “darkness,” I was 15. Years later I tried to talk about it and write about it but unlike many topics today, the topics I was ready to discuss were hushed and taboo.

I bring writing up today because I am especially fond of reading books and movies. I’ve read a couple of Harry Potter (seen all the movies), read the Hunger Games trilogy (seen movies). I just finished reading Twilight (today, in fact)  and part of Breaking Dawn (seen all the movies), Divergent Series (seen movies).

Each of those characters was unique but something was missing for me. I don’t know what it was. I’m still figuring that out. Writing is a very difficult process. Each of us brings our own skill set. Each main character is unique and had to come from somewhere within the authors creative force…I’ve liked all the books I’ve read, in one way or another.

That being said, I don’t want to write just to fill a niche space. I want to write out of passion for my topic or from first hand experience. Lots of people are scared of the dark. Scared of the skeletons in their closet because it’s hard to recognize when you’re in the trenches that exposing Fears and cleaning out the closets actually creates light, freedom and peace.

God whispered to me not long ago that he would heal me, but only IF and When I was ready to let him work with me here on the blog.

So be it…Writing is a process. Finding peace is a process. Show me the way, Lord. And so the journey begins anew.

Thanks for listening,

-Kenzel

Leave a Reply

