Life as a Journey or Destination: Don’t Lose Sight

Being Wrapped in God’s Love Should be Enough….

A week ago I was well into my new exercise routine. Given that I am trying to heal my Thyroid and gained 30 pounds in the last 18months because of Hashimoto’s, I have not felt like myself and the way my clothes don’t fit – aren’t helping.

Old Habits

I have always loved to swim. In college, when I discovered there were a couple of pools available to swim in, I was always on site during evening “lap” time to get my 30-60 minutes in. Swimming was always the gentle kind of activity kept me in shape.

Symptoms and Strategies

I have been fighting fatigue and a host of other minor symptoms for nearly 2 years. As I got to thinking about my struggle to become healthier I realized that best way was to go back to step 1. My first recreational hobby: Swimming.

Since the beginning of August I have been swimming once a day. I love gliding through and feeling the water against my skin. Once I realized that swimming provided additional exercise benefits because of resistance….my mind got a bit carried away.

I thought, “Hmm, if I swim twice as much, twice as hard – I’ll get fit and toned twice as fast.”

Bad Idea.

Holy Moments

After about 3 days of twice a day for a MINIMUM of 30 minutes, trouble was around the corner.

My last evening of lap swimming was one I won’t forget. The skies were a beautiful mixture of white clouds against the blue sky. The sun (as it was going into sunset mode) shown through the clouds like fire. The reflections of the sun and clouds reflected on the bottom of the pool.

If I looked up, I saw God’s Glory, as if reigning down on me from the heavens.

If I was swimming underwater, I saw the gorgeous warm reflections on the pool surface. It was like being surrounded by a giant Godly Hug. It was amazing: these reminders of His Love. His Love for me. I was too stupid and narrow focused at the time to realize there was a deeper message he wanted me to hear.

Though I am struggling with certain health issues I have been trying to adapt to a new way of eating. What I have allowed myself to do is get caught up desiring to return to the size clothing I’ve been accustomed to. And though I am not in an obese-way overweight, I don’t feel beautiful. And yes, I know I am perfect and beautiful in God’s eyes – That I am made righteous because of Him.

I’m glad he reminded me about that Holy moment from last week recently, because I desperately needed it.

Time

The morning after that amazing Sunset swim, when I could feel God’s love surround me. Where I could see it on display in the heaven’s and the depths below….that next day the first “trigger pain” of a back muscle spasm surfaced.

I’ve spent the last 7 days (until yesterday) laying flat on my back or on my side. His message finally came through pretty clearly. As much as he wants me healthy, I need to respect both my human limitations and his purpose for my life.

Input

There are a lot of voices out there that we women are subject to that either don’t have our best interests at heart or have no interest in what God’s plans and purposes are for our life.

In my “over-zealousness” I caved into a selfish desire to pursue physical perfection. Not cool.

What I am most bummed about, however, is that I allowed this desire to set me back for a week and it created a domino effect. Imagine what might happen if you couldn’t move from being on your floor for a week?! On top of that, I’m still not completely healed yet. I can feel the strains of constricting muscles reminding me to go easy. Reminding me that God’s way is the better way and this is all about the journey…not the destination.

Which Way?

God’s way is not about being “rushed” or taking short-cuts. It’s about ASKING for his direction, praying for discernment and being ready for his answer. BE READY!  Because He WILL answer…

Just don’t forget to breathe and exhale along the way….

Lord,

Help me keep my eyes fixed you. God, you are the creator, lover and redeemer of my soul. Prepare me to “Armor Up!”

Ephesians 6:10-18New Living Translation (NLT)

The Whole Armor of God

10 A final word: Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil. 12 For we[a] are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.

God, protect me from the fiery darts of the enemy and reveal to me your wisdom, give me clarity and strengthen me to do YOUR Will.

In Jesus Name, We pray: Amen

Blessings,

Kenzel

Leave a Reply

