Shemitah Reflections: Blessings follow Obedience

20130625_123817

I wrote a post last year about my Baptism experience (read the story here), and had always intended to write its continuation. It is now one year later and the time has come to share it. I loved being able to reflect on how important the decision I made was and why I understand that nothing ever just “happens.”

A Time for Everything – Ecclesiastes 3

1 For everything there is a season,
    a time for every activity under heaven.
A time to be born and a time to die.
    A time to plant and a time to harvest.
A time to kill and a time to heal.
    A time to tear down and a time to build up.
A time to cry and a time to laugh.
    A time to grieve and a time to dance.
A time to scatter stones and a time to gather stones.
    A time to embrace and a time to turn away.
A time to search and a time to quit searching.
    A time to keep and a time to throw away.
A time to tear and a time to mend.
    A time to be quiet and a time to speak.
A time to love and a time to hate.
    A time for war and a time for peace.

A Baptismal Double Blessing

It was a strange day, not WORLDLY strange – but Spiritually strange. I can almost feel myself standing with God watching the event unfold. Watching myself take a stand for Christ and what would be the beginning of my testimony.

I felt very “Singled Out” and alone that day. Out of our family of four, I was the only one who decided to get baptized. I asked family repeatedly about their thoughts in doing this with me. Their responses were either blank stares, or responses such as: “not for me,” “not ready” or flat out avoidance (you get the gist of it.)

The whole thing was a mini-whirlwind and it went by so fast. The significance of the moment was all but lost through the worship music. Fortunately, it wasn’t lost on God or Jesus. And The Holy Spirit, well, He was just getting started. I learned that day that God’s MACRO viewpoint from the SuperNatural is vastly different from anything I could gauge. Though I could barely hear Pastor Charles speaking the words of Baptism over me before my new life began…It didn’t matter. My baptism that day was all about my Spiritual health, my maturity and getting closer to God, Jesus and The Holy Spirit.

A Domino effect

On the way home from my Baptism, I sat in the car.  My wet head, still wrapped in a towel pondered the “Next Step” I had just taken. That’s when I heard one child say,

“Hey Mom, when can I get baptized?” followed by “Yeah, I want to get baptized, too!”

Elated, surprised and unsure how to take this sudden change of heart, I said, “Ok, I’ll call and check into it this week.”

A few short weeks later, I took my children in for their baptism class. It was scheduled to last an hour but there were only 3 children that attended. It last about 20 minutes but it was an amazing 20 minutes.

Having received their instructions and expressed their understanding of what Baptism means and its significance, they were ready.

I spent the next couple days engaging with them and asking them if they would like me to take part with them in it. They both knew they wanted me there but they wanted to do this independently. I felt bruised by their words but hid my disappointment.

A Double Baptism – Triple Blessings

With their towels and sandals at the ready by the pool, my kids headed for the baptism line. I walked over to where they were and stood with them since the lights were low and it was dark (except for the pool spotlights.)

A staff member looked at me as he guarded the ladder and asked:

“Hey, I recognize you, didn’t you just get baptized?”

“Yes, I did, back in August.”

“Awesome!” he responded.

I went back to my chair for my camera to take photos. I returned to stand with my kids (who were still a little nervous) and the staff member came back to ask:

“Do you know someone getting baptized today?”

“Yes, my kids. After I was baptized in August, they asked to learn more about it and decided to get baptized, too.”

His eyes widened and a smile spread across his face. “That is so cool. You set the standard, and now they are following your model!”

It was an eye-opening moment when he mentioned that. To recognize the domino effects of my actions.

Disappointed as I might have been (initially) that they were willing to have me watch from the sidelines, my disposition and perspective was changed at the moment of their immersion. I thought I would be missing out by not having the privilege of “dunking” them. Instead, looking back, I know Jesus was standing right there with us and sharing his delight with me as I saw their eyes and the expression on their faces: Excitement and Joy.

Jesus knew me better than I knew myself. I might have resisted simply watching them take this step but my initial doubts were washed away with their sin. My step of obedience to listen and respond became a double and triple blessing (now that the 3 of us were baptized in Christ.)

God wanted me to see their baptism through his eyes. To watch your child take the next step of faith in salvation is indescribable.

And I am grateful….

Never underestimate the Power of God, the Ability of God or His Knowledge about who you are or what his purpose is for you.

He is ready to change you, when you are both willing and ready. Allowing the Holy Spirit to change you is powerful and it is the most adventurous step you will ever take in this life.

Dear Father,

Every blessing you have for us is both a life experience and a Heavenly Gift. Help us to see with Spiritual Eyes and Listening Ears. Allow us to seek you in everything we do. You are the bread of life and your Word sustains us.

Protect each of us this day and cover us with The Armor of God (Ephesians 6:10-18.)

In Jesus Name – We Pray, Amen.

Blessings,

Kenzel

4 thoughts on “Shemitah Reflections: Blessings follow Obedience

    • Tina, Thank you so much! I have doubted myself about why God had me start this. But I’m beginning to better understand, and enjoy the process now.

      I never understood how the “wordpress reader” worked until this past week & and am finding other Godly bloggers as well. A truly beautiful thing!

      God Bless & give you peace today!
      – Kenzel

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

