Maximizing your Rotisserie chicken

image

Pictured:
(L) a chicken leg/breast (& some meat that I should have put in bowl on right)
(C) crockpot with bones, etc
(R) remaing meat that I removed from bones.

I don’t know about you but I really don’t like to let anything go to waste.

In the case of a store bought rotisserie chicken, I like to get more than one meal out of it 🙂

What do I do? Our 1st meal we usually finish at least one breast & a leg, and maybe half of the other breast.

I proceed to de-bone the carcass and get all remaining meat off. Believe me when I say, there is a LOT of meat on one of these. More than you’d expect.

I refrigerate this meat & use it in enchiladas, sandwiches, etc.

Finally, the bones, wings and skin are left.

This all goes into the crockpot. I add about a tablespoon of Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar on top of the carcass

image

And fill the crockpot with water. Depending on my mood, I might add bay leaves and celery, carrots and onions.

Let it cook for 24 hours and you’ve got homemade stock! I keep mine in the crock for more than 24hrs & keep adding water….this is the reason:

I like to serve myself a cup of broth fresh throughout the day and add salt to taste. Fresh bone broth is really nourishing and quite filling. I especially like it in between meals.

When I’m done with the bones, I pull them out, dump them in the trash and strain the broth into mason jars to cool,  then refrigerate and/or freeze in ice cube trays.

These are the three ways I use my  store bought chicken 🙂

Blessings,
– Kenzel

Leave a Reply

