Mother’s Day: Not Forgotten

I was ready to bypass a Mother’s Day post altogether. But – in God’s true character -he wasn’t about to let that happen.

Today, I went to see the movie God’s Not Dead 2.

This sequel blew me away! It has been on my mind since I left the auditorium, which was a good thing. The main character faced an enemy with a hidden agenda; to steal, kill and destroy.

It’s the very reason why Ephesians 6:10-18 is so important.

This afternoon, the enemy began his crafty schemes. Reminding me that MY mom is gone and has been for decades – he was set on making me feel inferior and inadequate and twisting truth.

About this time I had gone to sit outside and looked up at the sky. I remember thinking, “Lord, where are you? Don’t forget me..”

His response was so fast, “I have not forgotten you.”

In that moment, he lifted the carnal sting of Mother’s Day. I knew I had allowed myself to think as the world does and put more stock in a single “holiday” on the calendar than in the promises of My Savior. Fortunately, his Grace provided relief rather than shame.

He reminded me that my life is not dictated by how the world celebrates. I was not designed to measure myself by those factors because the world’s standards are limited compared to his position in time and space.

This Sunday is the Lord’s Day. It just so happens to also be Mother’s Day. As far as I’m concerned it is perfect, because it is the day the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it (Psalm 118:24). I have a purpose (Jeremiah 29:11). I trust that Jesus won’t forsake me and is always there ready to listen and comfort.

For ALL Motherless children reading this – may God Bless you with his Peace and wrap you in arms of love.

That is exactly the kind of love this Mom needs.

Blessings,

Kenzel

5 thoughts on “Mother’s Day: Not Forgotten

  1. Kenzel,I had my mom leave here in 2014,it was one heck of a ride.She loved me and I knew it and yet these spirits worked through her to reject,belittle etc..me.I spent nearly 7 months taking care of her while this went on.I would cry,hurt get sassy etc.trying to deal with her dying and working this all out before she left..I did her eulogy at the funeral.
    GOD was so full of grace to mom and me through it all.We are also human.We also are in warfare with wicked spirts.right…
    Sometimes now the enemy attacks me with I could have done better,spoken softer,overlooked more…etc
    But I know that we had to walk through the valley with each other.I miss my mom,but I know that she prays for me to be strong and to get the work done on this side.I asked GOD to tell her that I am sorry for anyway I failed her while I was taking care of her .I told him to tell her that I forgave her for any hurt ,rejection that she did to me..for I know she was captive to some strongholds. We will meet each again soon ,without all the darkness that besieged us..The light truly did overcome all of the works of the evil one.Blessings to you today.Happy mom’s day.Thankyou, Diana

    Like

    • Diana,
      No matter when a parent passes it’s a challenge.
      My Dad died not long after my mom. It was all such a shock to my system but, in hindsight, everything that has happened has been for “such a time as this.”

      God is our ROCK & REFUGE. I pray Jesus covers you with the protection of Psalm 91 over your life.

      Thank you for your comment, I wept with you.

      Like

  2. Thank you for sharing my burden.The enemy does try to cause us be dictated by what the world says,does. I like how you put that above in your post..We were in heaven before we ever came to earth…That amazes me..
    Our identity is locked up, hid in him..just waiting to be revealed in these latter days…thank you again for sharing your heart…

    J

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

