The Wilderness by Tent: “Travel Light”

Please click on this link for Mercy Me’s song:

“Word of God Speak”

 

Yesterday, I wrote a letter to The Father, inquiring about why I would be in the Wilderness?

To back track a bit, last year, I bought a book titled: Book of Mysteries, by Jonathan Cahn. I started reading it a couple of times but had stalled on actually finishing it. I re-started the study several weeks ago and found myself on a very unexpected journey (just how God seems to work, right?)

It turns out the journey He placed me on is a road similar to some I have been on before. The road is called “The Wilderness” and while these experiences are generally  difficult to navigate…most people don’t realize that this time in the Wilderness is an important place to be.

I realized earlier in the year that while life is always full of challenges – God said in His Word that WE would have to go through the Wilderness and for good reason. God sent His Son (Jesus) through the Wilderness as well. The reasons are simple; they cause us to grow. And God’s intent is not for us to remain stagnant but to gain in strength, wisdom and understanding.

Jeremiah 29:11 says that “I know the plans I have for you” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

During my prayer time with the LORD today, I understood Him to say…”notice you haven’t blogged in a while. You felt as if you had nothing to write about. You were uncertain what to write about. Difficult as the Wilderness has been, I needed to shift you around. To refocus you…if I am your provider how can I give you provision without space to do so? Yes, you have been listening, but MY Voice has been crowded out by others.”

Why do so many people tend to think that the trials we face indicate we have done something wrong? That if we are going through challenges in this life that it is because we have taken a “mis-step”?

I’m coming to the realization that this is because we – humans – have come to believe a lie. And that lie is that life is meant to be sweet and people have hope that “Once upon a time” will ultimately become a “Happily Ever After.”  That’s great and all if you are living by the World’s standards…

The question I ask you to ponder is… Where did those two thoughts (Once upon a time – Happy Ever After) get their start from? How did those concepts find their way into culture (and into our belief system?)

I hadn’t intended to write today… But yesterday, in the afternoon, I read a segment from Book of Mysteries that made me realize I needed to. I’m at another point in this Life journey that is propelling me forward.

In Books of Mysteries, Day 50 is titled “The Tent World” – it is sub-titled “The Feast of Camping” and the concluding thought from the lesson ends with the sentence: “And travel lightly.”

While I was pondering that lesson, I came to understand something that I’m supposed to share here.

First, for those with understanding, let me affirm there is a sort of “shifting” going on. Whether this is just a Spiritual shifting and how/when it might manifest in the physical, I have no idea.

At the root of mankind, each of us carries a spark of HOPE within us.  However, this root isn’t something we can claim by anything we have done. It is when we are iin The Wilderness that the human spirit has the ability to make a decision that will transform the pathway; for better or worse.  RECOGNIZING who we are because of who WE were made to be by The Creator God (Yahveh).

Given that We are ALL travelers through this life. Consider what the phrase “travel light” may imply from a spiritual point of view? We come into this world as newborns…wearing nothing. We carry no possessions and brought nothing with us.

On the flip side, how do we leave this world? The moment our bodies die – we leave with nothing but our Spirits/Souls. The only thing left behind is a body that has “aged” and wandered through the Wilderness – and that body, eventually gets buried. Although I was going to use a common phrase here: “Ashes to Ashes and dust to dust” I stopped short when I found out that phrase may not actually be biblical, although its usage is based on the following (Gen 3:19 All your life you will sweat to produce food, until your dying day. Then you will return to the ground from which you came. For you were made from dust, and to the dust you will return.”)

Getting back on track:

So, the body dies and, effectively disintegrates. Not the most pleasant thought…but it would be worse if we didn’t have the assurance that though the body isn’t designed to last forever that the soul and spirit are eternal. And that brings me right back to the point of the Wilderness and Tent World – why we NEED to travel light.

Lesson for today: When we’re IN the Wilderness, everything we know is going to be challenged. We may know the truth, but others may not fully understand it. Jesus knew the truth but He knew the Sanhedrin would judge Him and judge Him they did.

Our bodies don’t want to experience the Wilderness, but the Wilderness is a reminder of the world we live in. Yes, this world can be a beautiful place, but it does present troubles and Jesus told us it would, in His Word (see John 16:33).

When Jesus spoke in Chapter 16, He told the disciples they would be scattered. He knew it, He saw it coming and tried to comfort them. He knew it wouldn’t be easy. While we walk this earth, life won’t be easy…but maybe that’s the point.

Please click for video: Grace Wins

Closing thought:

Travel Light just means, as you wander through the Wilderness make sure other’s can SEE the Light of God’s LOVE radiating through you…and don’t carry more than you can take with you as you journey through it.

 

May you be blessed with Peace.

Here is the Aaronic Blessing from the KJV of The Book of Numbers

Numbers 6:22-27

King James Version (KJV)

22 And the Lord spake unto Moses, saying,

23 Speak unto Aaron and unto his sons, saying, On this wise ye shall bless the children of Israel, saying unto them,

24 The Lord bless thee, and keep thee:

25 The Lord make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee:

26 The Lord lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.

27 And they shall put my name upon the children of Israel, and I will bless them.

