He “Saved The Best For Last”

sunset

 

For many months there has been one particular secular song (from 1992) that kept rolling through my memory.

In the past months, I have likely watched and listened to it more than I did when it debuted…and I wondered what I was supposed to do with it, what it meant and why I kept hearing it. Today, I understood.

That song is Vanessa Williams’ “Save The Best For Last.”

When I first started listening to it again, I questioned why on earth its pronounced lyrics would begin to repeat in memory.

She sings of a love she longs for but isn’t reciprocated. She sings of an unrequited desire….things that are carnal and of the flesh. 

Or so I thought…

The Journey I find myself continuing on now is full of daily – sometimes hourly lessons. Although this “expedition” seemed to begin with what I would call the Dark Night of the Soul (click here: John Paul Jackson teaching) – (please note you might watch this later because the teaching is a video that lasts 90 minutes) it has morphed into something I had not anticipated.

Today, while reading Book of Mysteries – I find myself paused at Day 71 – Titled “The Omega Joy” and subtitled “The Last Joy.” The Omega Joy goes into a mini-lesson about the Feast of Tabernacles (which occurs each Autumn between September and October).

While the world at large celebrates the joys of the year to come at the beginning of each New Year (January 1st)…The Feast of Tabernacles occurs near the end. According to the Book of Mysteries, the days of Sukkot – or Feast of Tabernacles – is considered the GREATEST CELEBRATION.

And it was when I read the following, that The Holy Spirit really got my attention.

“In other words, the ways of God all lead in the end to joy. Even that which seems hard for the moment, the way of sacrifice, self-control and righteousness. In the long run, it all leads to joy. God’s calendar ends with the Feast of Tabernacles, and those who walk in His ways end up altogether joyful. For the ways of God all lead to joy. AND THE BEST IS SAVED FOR LAST.”

Please do watch the following video….

“Save The Best For Last”

So how does the song she sings finally relate to this message?

Song Lyrics

Sometimes the snow comes down in June
Sometimes the sun goes round the moon

(Consider the power of what God can do:  Joshua 10:12-15)

I see the passion in your eyes
Sometimes it’s all a big surprise

(God’s Love for Mankind gave us Jesus Passion at The Cross: Matthew 27:45-56)

‘Cause there was a time when all I did was wish
You’d tell me this was love
It’s not the way I hoped or how I planned
But somehow it’s enough

(You did tell me this was Love…John 3:16-17)

And now we’re standing face-to-face
Isn’t this world a crazy place?
Just when I thought our chance had passed
You go and save the best for last

(We WILL be standing FACE to FACE in front of God at some point in the future. Revelation 20:11-15)

All of the nights you came to me
When some silly girl had set you free
You wondered how you’d make it through
I wondered what was wrong with you

(Psalm 23, Psalm 16:1)

‘Cause how could you give your love to someone else
And share your dreams with me
Sometimes the very thing you’re looking for
Is the one thing you can’t see

(James 1:5-8 ….also there are many things you can’t see that are still there…Do you see the wind blowing? John 3:8)

Isn’t this world a crazy place?
Just when I thought our chance had passed
You go and save the best for last

(What IS God doing for us by Saving the Best for Last? God is promising that Jesus will never leave or forsake us (Hebrews 13:5). That He is standing by our side – ALL the way – To The End. (Matthew 28:20)

la da da da – da da.-

Sometimes the very thing you’re looking for
Is the one thing you can’t see

Sometimes the snow comes down in June
Sometimes the sun goes round the moon
Just when I thought our chance had passed
You go and save the best for last

You went and saved the best for last
Yeah…

 

Yes, He did – He did Indeed Save the Best, for Last.

May your Weekend be Blessed…

Kenzel

