An Eclipsed Season

It was the first week of December this year when I saw the notification from WordPress on my phone.

It was a “Congratulations” on your 10th Anniversary.

Ten Years? Has it really been 10 years since the inception of this blog?

And that reminder notification is what leads to this, tonight.

For the past week, I’ve been hearing “Total Eclipse of the Heart” by Bonnie Tyler.

But the more I kept hearing that song in The Spirit, the more I pondered past Christmas messages I shared here. And then that led me to really dig back in time, to when I was little; innocent, naive, unassuming.

It was that reflection during this month of December that helped me realize why the Christmas Season has almost bothered me.

Lights.

I remember the first time I saw a “Candy Cane Lane” or a “Festival of Lights” in the City. It was so pretty. Beautiful to see up close and bittersweet to drive away from. Passing through neighborhoods, no matter where one lives in this world – there are some houses that are extravagantly decorated, other less so and some with no lights at all. But what bothered me most, was that everyone that had decorated would take down and remove their lights. Some came down the day after Christmas. Other’s the day after New Year’s and little by little they had mostly disappeared by the middle or end of January. That was when I was ready to cry.

In the deepest part of winter, January, February – all the lights that illuminated the night were stored away in attics and garage bins until the following autumn. It all just seems so wrong. Lights that illuminate during the Holiday Season shouldn’t have to come down. Lights should be a constant.

(I’m also not saying Lights are a priority over ANYTHING. Father God is the Creator of Lights in Genesis. I write this as a Prayer to our Father, because our world is so messed up and we NEED his help and intervention, more than anything.)

It was in that moment last week that I finally understood WHY I felt that way.

In Heaven, even though there is no darkness. There are Lights that decorate everything. There is no space, house or public area that is missing what we know as Christmas Lights. That is why the year I saw a street lined with houses fully decorated in my neighborhood, I squealed like a child on Christmas Morning.

Father told me that deep in my Spirit a memory was stirring that had been laid dormant. This memory was among many that made me ponder why Christmas was only one day of the year when it really should be everyday.

Things in Heaven are different than what we have become familiar with here on Earth.

That is the reason I have often felt a sadness and longing at Christmas. And that is why I have been hearing “Total Eclipse of The Heart.”

We are waiting on you Father. As we Celebrate Christ’s Birth, please intercede.

Please illuminate the Night. Illuminate eclipsed hearts, all over everywhere.

This entry was posted on December 24, 2023, in Prayers. Bookmark the permalink.